Menu Donate Request our help

Helpline: 0300 102 1919

Lawrie Haynes appointed Chairman of the Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund

Lawrie HaynesThe Viscount Trenchard of Wolfeton will retire as the Chairman of the Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund at the end of this year. He will be succeeded by Lawrie Haynes, President - Marine and Nuclear at Rolls-Royce and a trustee of the Benevolent Fund between 2005 and 2012.

Lawrie Haynes joined Rolls-Royce on 1 February 2009 and was appointed President - Marine and Nuclear on 13 May 2013. He was previously CEO at White Young Green plc and prior to that, he was CEO at British Nuclear Group and a main board director of BNFL plc. 

He has extensive experience in the aerospace and telecommunications sectors, and in the public sector, where he worked for five years as Chief Executive of the Highways Agency.Lawrie has a degree in Business Law (Heriot Watt).

He is a Non-Executive Director at Network Rail and was, until July 2013, Chairman of the Safety Committee. He joined the RAF as an apprentice in 1969 and served for nine years. 

Lawrie said: "I am delighted to be taking up the role of Chairman of the Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund, a wonderful charity which is particularly close to my heart, having served in the RAF for nine years. Having previously been a trustee of the charity between 2005 and 2012, I have first-hand experience of the outstanding welfare work it does for both serving and retired members of the RAF and their families.

"I am looking forward to leading the charity through what should be an exciting and challenging period, which will include the 100th anniversary of the founding of the Royal Air Force in 2018 and the centenary of the Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund one year later. 

"I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the Viscount Trenchard of Wolfeton, grandson of the founder of both the Royal Air Force and its leading welfare charity, for his excellent leadership of the Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund over the last eight years."

Lawrie Haynes will take up the position of Chairman from 1 January 2014.

Sign up to receive the RAFBF e-newsletter